Technical translation and copy-editing

There are many different types of technical translations. Examples include manuals for implementing service-oriented architectures, SLAs for providing SaaS solutions, handbooks on server virtualisation in data centres, operating instructions and service manuals for machines, and product data sheets. No matter what type of technical translation – my translations are always tailored to your readership.

What is copy-editing?

When I copy-edit a text, my job is to find errors and correct them. If the text is a translation, I always compare the translation with its source text. Copy-editing is often a part of the tried and tested four-eye principle. In other words, the first set of eyes belong to the author or translator. The second set of eyes are mine. I double-check the text in question and correct errors, rendering the text even better than before.

How do I copy-edit a text?

Looking for typographical and grammatical errors is not all I do. I also focus on important considerations regarding terminology. For instance, the term “dialogue box” might be an accurate translation. But it will be an error if the customer prefers “dialogue window”. Such errors must be corrected. Any failure to follow rules stipulated in a style guide will likewise result in errors. “Start up the machine” could be an acceptable heading in a handbook – but an incorrect translation if the customer’s style guide explicitly requires nominal style (“Machine startup”).

The types of errors that appear in a translation thus depend in part on a customer’s guidelines. A copy editor checks for errors in the following categories, among others: orthography, grammar, wording, syntax, punctuation, factual accuracy, completeness, consistency, terminology, compliance with customer’s guidelines and/or style guide, formatting, numbers, terminological changes based on feedback from customer, etc.

 

Technical Documentation

Technische Übersetzung und Lektorat

Eine technische Übersetzung reicht vom Leitfaden zur Umsetzung einer serviceorientierten Architektur und SLAs zur Bereitstellung einer SaaS-Lösung über Handbücher zur Servervirtualisierung von Rechenzentren bis hin zu Produktdatenblättern, Betriebs- und Wartungsanleitungen für eine Maschine: Meine Übersetzungen sprechen Ihr Publikum fachgerecht an!

Was ist ein Lektorat?

Bei einem Lektorat wird ein Text auf Fehler hin geprüft und korrigiert. Dabei wird immer der Originaltext mit der Übersetzung verglichen. Beim Lektorat kommt das Vier-Augen-Prinzip zum Einsatz. Der Begriff sagt es bereits: Es wird eine zweite Person, also eine andere Person als der Verfasser oder Übersetzer eines Texts, für die Korrektur eingesetzt. Das Ziel ist es, durch Korrigieren von Fehlern den Text weiter zu verbessern.

Wie gehe ich beim Lektorat vor?

Es reicht nicht, nur nach Tipp- und Grammatikfehlern Ausschau zu halten. Wie sieht es mit der Terminologie aus? Begriffe, die zwar korrekt übersetzt wurden (z. B. „Dialogfeld“), aber trotzdem der gewünschten Unternehmensterminologie (z.B. „Dialogfenster“) nicht entsprechen, sind Fehler und müssen korrigiert werden. Stilistische Richtlinien, die im Redaktionsleitfaden vorgegeben sind, aber nicht umgesetzt werden, wären ebenfalls Fehler. Beispiel: Die Überschrift „Maschine in Betrieb nehmen“ in einem Handbuch wäre dann falsch übersetzt, wenn der Kunde laut Styleguide explizit den Nominalstil wünscht („Inbetriebnahme der Maschine“).

Welche Fehler in einer Übersetzung auftreten können, hängt also auch davon ab, welche Vorgaben der Kunde hat. Fehlerkategorien, die im Lektorat geprüft werden, sind unter anderem Rechtschreibung, Grammatik, Ausdruck, Satzbau, Interpunktion, sachliche Richtigkeit, Vollständigkeit, Konsistenz, Terminologie, Einhaltung von Kundenrichtlinien (Redaktionsleitfaden), Formatierung, Zahlen, Umsetzung von Kundenfeedback zu Begriffen usw.

 

Technische Dokumentation