30. June 2016

The mystery of transcreation: Good style takes time

Demanding direct customers who want a flowing translation into German and aren’t hung up on sticking rigidly to the original text? The number of my customers who don’t simply want a translation, but who want their text completely rewritten in the target language, is growing. This is where we move into the realms of ‘transcreation’.

Translator, copywriter, communications expert

The term ‘transcreation’ is a slippery beast at the best of times. Not least due to its origin as a portmanteau of the words ‘translation’ and ‘creation’ (in this sense: copywriting). So, it might be better to bypass it altogether and talk instead about intercultural, creative or textual adaptation. After all, the creative adaptation of a text into the target language is more than simply a translation. Why is that? Well, it involves converting an existing text into another language and then optimising the translation so it resonates in the target language’s culture – all the while retaining the intent, emotions and other characteristics of the original. Which makes it twice as difficult as writing the original text, because it calls for two skills: translating and copywriting.

Creative adaptations are hard work

Technical manuals, annual reports and product lists can be translated pretty quickly if you are familiar with the subject and specialist terminology – if not, terminology can be researched. And there are plenty of tools out there that are making the translator’s job ever more efficient.
But this ‘higher, faster, further’ approach is not suited to creative adaptations. The creative process – from the customer briefing, the first rough version, research, brainstorming, more research, dialogue with the customer, creative breaks, multiple text reviews and adaptations, to the finishing touches – have to be done afresh every single time. For every single job.
It makes creative adaptations hard, exhausting work that calls for a high degree of self discipline. And because good ideas and phrases don’t appear out of thin air, developing special methods and techniques to get those creative juices flowing every single day is paramount. Due attention must be given to how the text plays with the language, too, adapting and polishing phrases as necessary.

Copyright: stockpics – Fotolia

 

Recommended reading:

The trend towards transcreation is gathering momentum, yet the term itself remains shrouded in mystery. Neither we, the translator community, nor our customers can say with any great certainty what transcreation actually is. Nina Sattler-Hovdar has written a book on the subject: Translation – Transkreation. Vom Über-Setzen zum Über-Texten (available in German only). It is a new publication from the BDÜ’s own publishing house BDÜ Fachverlag and sheds light on this tricky subject for customers and translators alike.

Sattler-Hovdar’s practical guide features plenty of tips, examples and checklists to aid the transcreation process and give your work the finishing touch. An example briefing, information on estimating the amount of work involved, and handy hints on calculating costs can also be found. The latter is key, because transcreation is very time-consuming. It demands a different approach to explaining to customers how creative adaptations work, to preparing suitable cost estimates, and to negotiating prices with customers on an equal footing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

30. Juni 2016

Mythos Transkreation: Guter Stil braucht Zeit

Anspruchsvolle Direktkunden, die sich flüssige Übersetzungen ins Deutsche wünschen und nicht am Original „kleben“? Meine Kunden erteilen mir immer häufiger den Auftrag, den Ausgangstext in der Zielsprache neu zu formulieren als ihn einfach zu übersetzen. Transkreation ist hier das Stichwort.

Übersetzerin, Texterin, Kommunikationsexpertin

Dass der Begriff „Transkreation“ nicht so richtig greifbar ist, liegt wahrscheinlich daran, dass es sich hierbei um einen Kunstbegriff aus „Translation“ (Übersetzen) und „Kreation“ (Texten) handelt. Daher ist es besser, von interkultureller, kreativer oder textlicher Adaption zu sprechen. Denn eine kreative Adaption in die Zielsprache ist mehr als eine reine Übersetzung. Warum? Ich übertrage einen bereits kreierten Text in eine andere Sprache und „übertexte“ anschließend diese Übersetzung. Ohne dabei die Botschaft des Textes, die enthaltenen Emotionen usw. außer Acht zu lassen. Und das ist doppelt so schwierig wie das Schreiben des Ausgangstexts, denn es fallen zwei Aufgaben an: Übersetzen und Texten.

Kreative Adaptionen sind harte Arbeit

Technische Anleitungen, Geschäftsberichte oder Produktlisten lassen sich recht zügig übersetzen: Das Fachgebiet ist bekannt, die Fachterminologie sitzt oder wird recherchiert. Durch den Einsatz von Übersetzungswerkzeugen ist es sogar möglich, immer effizienter zu übersetzen.

Dieses „Höher, schneller, weiter“ lässt sich bei kreativen Adaptionen allerdings nicht umsetzen. Der kreative Prozess – Briefing durch den Kunden, die erste Rohfassung, Recherchen, Brainstorming, weitere Recherchen, Rücksprache mit dem Kunden, kreative Pausen, mehrfaches Bearbeiten und Adaptieren des Textes, der letzte Feinschliff – muss immer wieder von Neuem durchlaufen werden. Und zwar bei jedem einzelnen Auftrag.

Kreative Adaptionen sind also harte, schweißtreibende Arbeit, die viel Disziplin erfordert. Und da gute Ideen und Formulierungen nicht vom Himmel fallen, ist es notwendig, Methoden und Techniken zu entwickeln, um im Arbeitsalltag kreative Denkprozesse anzustoßen. Auch das Spiel mit der Sprache kommt nicht zu kurz, schließlich müssen Formulierungen adaptiert und poliert werden.

Copyright: stockpics - Fotolia

Copyright: stockpics – Fotolia

Buchtipp:

Transkreation liegt also schwer im Trend, und trotzdem scheinen sich um den Begriff „Transkreation“ weiterhin viele Mythen zu ranken. Weder unsere Auftraggeber noch Auftragnehmer – also die Übersetzerzunft selbst – können genau erklären, was Transkreation eigentlich ist. Das Fachbuch Translation – Transkreation. Vom Über-Setzen zum Über-Texten von Nina Sattler-Hovdar, das vor einigen Wochen im BDÜ Fachverlag erschienen ist und sich an Auftragnehmer und Auftraggeber gleichermaßen wendet, bringt endlich Licht ins Dunkel.

Seine hohe Praxistauglichkeit beweist der Ratgeber mit vielen Tipps, Beispielen sowie den zahlreichen Checklisten zur Abwicklung von Transkreationsarbeiten oder zum stilistischen Feinschliff. Ein Muster-Briefing, Hinweise zum Abschätzen des Arbeitsaufwands und Tipps zur Kostenberechnung runden den Ratgeber ab. Denn Transkreation ist zeitaufwendig. Dies erfordert demnach eine differenzierte Herangehensweise, wie Auftraggeber über kreative Adaptionen aufgeklärt, angemessene Kostenvoranschläge erstellt und Preisverhandlungen auf Augenhöhe mit dem Kunden geführt werden.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.